Creation of eight new National Centres of Competence in Research (NCCR)

Tuesday, 17 December, 2013
The National Centre of Competence in Research (NCCR).

Federal Councillor Johann N. Schneider-Ammann announced the creation of eight new National Centres of Competence in Research (NCCR). They will be set up at the universities of Basel, Bern, Fribourg, Geneva and Neuchâtel, as well as at the EPF Lausanne and the ETH Zurich. 

NCCR SwissMAP - The Mathematics of Physics (leading house UNIGE, co-leading house ETHZ), directed by Prof. Stanislav Smirnov, received 11.2 million CHF of federal funding for the period of 4 years (2014-2017). This is a multidisciplinary project at the crossroad of mathematics and theoretical physics which aims to encourage the interactions between both fields, to provide a mathematical framework for modern physics theories and to exploit physics intuition in mathematical research.

Read more on the SNSF website