EMS Prize 2016

Monday, 18 July, 2016

Congratulations to Hugo Duminil Copin and Thomas Willwacher who received the European Mathematical Society prizes.





Hugo Duminil Copin received the EMS prize 2016 for his outstanding research in statistical physics, in particular on critical phenomena for models in dimensions below the critical one, including Fortuin-Kasteleyn percolation, Ising and Potts models, self-avoiding walks and to harmonic analysis in disordered media.



Thomas Willwacher received the EMS prize 2016 for his striking and important research in a variety of mathematical fields: homotopical algebra, geometry, topology and mathematical physics, including deep results related to Kontsevich's formality theorem and the relation between Kontsevich's graph complex and the Grothendieck-Teichmüller Lie algebra.


The award ceremony took place at the 7th European Congress of Mathematicians in Berlin on the 18th of July 2016.

Please visit the 7ECM website for more information: http://www.7ecm.de/prizes/laureates.html