Maryna Viazovska wins the 2017 SASTRA Ramanujan Prize

Thursday, 21 December, 2017

Congratulations to Professor Maryna Viazovska who has been awarded the 2017 SASTRA Ramanujan Prize from the Shanmugha Arts, Science, Technology & Research Academy (India).

Professor Viazovska is honored “for her stunning solution in dimension 8 of the celebrated sphere packing problem, and for her equally impressive joint work with Henry Cohn, Abhinav Kumar, Stephen D. Miller and Danylo Radchenko resolving the sphere packing problem in dimension 24, by building upon her fundamental ideas in dimension 8.”

The Prize will be awarded in December 21-22, 2017 at the International Conference on Number Theory at SASTRA University in Kumbakonam (Ramanujan’s hometown) where the prize is traditionally given each year.